nextPlace is a research focus at the Ostwestfalen-Lippe Technical University. It is subsidized by the program FH Struktur des Landes NRW. Four departments of the Ostwestfalen-Lippe University are being involved in nextPlace.

nextPlace’s staff members are composed of six professors and an interdisciplinary team of three research assistants (for more information, see “team”). nextPlace is part of the program “Intelligtente, umweltfreudnliche und integrierte Mobilität”. nextPlace research activities can be categorized in four major research subjects.

The following departments are being involved in nextPlace:
FB 1 Detmolder Schule für Architektur, Innenarchitektur und Stadplanung
FB 5 Elektrotechnik und technische Informatik
FB 7 Produktion und Wirtschaft
FB 8 Umweltingenieurwesen und Angewandte Informatik